MTA Playwriting Competition – Call for One-Act Plays

Have you ever wanted to see your script come to life? Winners of the Mississippi Theatre Association’s Annual Playwriting Competition receive not only the chance to realize that dream during the annual festival, but also receive a check for their hard work.

The winner of the Adult division will receive a $500 award while the winner of the Youth division will receive a $250 award. All scripts will have the opportunity to be reviewed by various judges throughout the state.

The goal of the Playwriting Competition is to promote and recognize unpublished playwrights in Mississippi by providing a channel for their work to be reviewed and performed in a workshop setting. Started 5 years ago, the Playwriting Competition was originally for adults; however, a year later the youth competition was started out of a demand for students to have the opportunity to submit their one-act plays. MTA always looks forward to the Playwriting Competition each year—many talented playwrights are native Mississippians—and therefore have opened the competition to natives of the Hospitality State as well.

The winning scripts for the 2013 Festival belonged to Chris Moore of Jackson and Treanna Bradley of Leakesville in the adult and youth division, respectively. MTA is now calling all Mississippi playwrights to submit their one-act plays to the annual competition.

For reference and the advancement of the playwrights and their work, MTA supplies a list of many of the scripts entered in past competition on the association’s Playwright’s Directory.  The Directory as well as the guidelines for the competition can be found on the MTA website at Scripts will be accepted until October 18, 2013.

MTA is sponsored in part by grants from the Mississippi Arts Commission, a state agency, and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. For more information, visit the MTA playwriting competition site.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *