J. Warren McDaniel was a fixture in Coast community theatre for more than 30 years. He graduated from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy and served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. While at Ole Miss he saw a touring company of “There Shall Be No Night”, starring Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne and “was totally hooked”.

Warren’s involvement in community theatre began at Gulfport in 1949-1950, and later in Washington, Ms., where he organized the Washington Little Theatre and became involved in State Competition. He was also an active member of Natchez Little Theater.

He continued his involvement in State and Regional Community Theatre Competition when he moved back to the Coast. During his association with Gulfport Little Theater he served twice as Chairman, was elected Chairman of the Southeastern Theatre Conference, and was a two-term representative to the American Community Theater Association.

At GLT, McDaniel directed such plays as Rebecca, Dr. Cooks Garden, The Runner Stumbles, Twelve Angry Men, Twelve Angry Women,and Caine Mutiny Court Martial.

In 1980 McDaniel was the first recipient of the Cowboy Maloney Award. This award was given “for his outstanding contributions to the Mississippi Theatre Association”.

In 1991 the Mississippi Theatre Association named its highest award in the Community Theatre Division the J. Warren McDaniel Community Theatre Award. This honor is given to the group judged best community theatre in the annual convention’s play festival.

Award Winners

40 Records Found
YearProductionTheatre AffiliationNotes
2000 Observatory Conditions Delta Center Stage
1999 Cotton Patch Gospel Gulfport Little Theatre
1998 Eleemosynary Black Rose Theatre Company
1997 The Belle of Amherst Gulfport Little Theatre
1996 Haiku Delta Center Stage Winner, SETC
1995 Moon for the Misbegotten Delta Center Stage
1994 Into the Woods Corinth Little Theatre
1993 I Hate Hamlet Gulfport Little Theatre
1992 The Trial of the Big Bad Wolf Gulfport Little Theatre
1990 Laundry and Bourbon Clinton Community Theatre
1989 On the Verge Kudzu Players Winner, SETC
1988 The Fantastiks
1987 The Octet Bridge Club Starkville Community Theatre
1986 Tin Types Starkville Community Theatre
1985 Pushcart Peddlers Gulfport Little Theatre
1983 Echoes Bay St. Louis Little Theatre
1981 Sea Horse Bay St. Louis Little Theatre
1979 Dunelawn Greenwood Little Theatre
1977 Pfeiffer's People Greenwood Little Theatre
1975 Godspell Paspoint Players