J. Warren McDaniel was a fixture in Coast community theatre for more than 30 years. He graduated from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy and served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. While at Ole Miss he saw a touring company of “There Shall Be No Night”, starring Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne and “was totally hooked”.

Warren’s involvement in community theatre began at Gulfport in 1949-1950, and later in Washington, Ms., where he organized the Washington Little Theatre and became involved in State Competition. He was also an active member of Natchez Little Theater.

He continued his involvement in State and Regional Community Theatre Competition when he moved back to the Coast. During his association with Gulfport Little Theater he served twice as Chairman, was elected Chairman of the Southeastern Theatre Conference, and was a two-term representative to the American Community Theater Association.

At GLT, McDaniel directed such plays as Rebecca, Dr. Cooks Garden, The Runner Stumbles, Twelve Angry Men, Twelve Angry Women,and Caine Mutiny Court Martial.

In 1980 McDaniel was the first recipient of the Cowboy Maloney Award. This award was given “for his outstanding contributions to the Mississippi Theatre Association”.

In 1991 the Mississippi Theatre Association named its highest award in the Community Theatre Division the J. Warren McDaniel Community Theatre Award. This honor is given to the group judged best community theatre in the annual convention’s play festival.

Award Winners

40 Records Found
YearProductionTheatre AffiliationNotes
2014 Black Sash Wings Performing Arts
2014 The SantaLand Diaries Tupelo Community Theatre
2013 The Boys in Autumn Company of Angels Theatre
2013 25th Annual Putman County Spelling Bee Tupelo Community Theatre
2012 God of Carnage Tupelo Community Theatre
2012 For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Was Enuf Delta Center Stage Winner, SETC
2011 The Dixie Swim Club Starkville Community Theatre Runner-up, SETC
2011 Driving Miss Daisy Just Over the Rainbow Theatre
2010 Eleemosynary Starkville Community Theatre
2010 Rabbit Hole Actor's Playhouse Winner, SETC
2009 Catfish Moon Starkville Community Theatre Winner, SETC
2009 Rent: School Edition Actor's Playhouse
2008 Doubt
2007 Smoke on the Mountain Starkville High School Conceived by Alan Bailey, Musical Arrangements by Mike Craver & Mark Hardwick. Runner-up, SETC
2006 A Woman Called Truth Delta Center Stage
2005 The Glider Delta Center Stage Winner, SETC
2004 Bel Canto Runner-up, SETC
2003 The Harry and Sam Dialogues
2002 Bobby Gould in Hell Actors Anonymous
2001 The Beauty Queen of Leenane Tupelo Community Theatre