Dr. Dominic J. Cunetto

Dr. Dominic J. Cunetto

Dr. Dominic J. Cunetto was originally from St. Louis, Missouri where he received his B.A.from Washington University with a major in theatre. He also attended the University of Florida where he received his M.A. and Ph.D. in theatre. While in Florida he taught at Terry Parker H.S., Cardinal Mooney H.S., and St. Petersburg Junior College. In 1963 he accepted a position at Mississippi State University where he initiated the theatre program.

He developed and taught courses in theatre, directed over 80 plays, and was the Founder of the First Statewide High School Drama Festival in 1963. He was been a long time member of M.T.A., and has served as Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President, President, and S.E.T.C. State Representative. He is presently serving as historian.

He has received awards for his work in theatre from Washington University, University of Florida, and Mississippi State University.

In 1988 Cunetto was awarded the Cowboy Maloney Award “for his outstanding contributions to the Mississippi Theatre Association.” He retired from MSU in 1991 when the theatre in McComas Hall was completed. In that same year at MTA’s Convention Dr. Cunetto was bestowed with the honor of having the winner of the State High School Drama Festival named “The Dominic Cunetto Award for Best Production.”

Award Winners

46 Records Found
YearWriterDirectorTheatre AffiliationNotes
2014 Bill Rester Picayune Memorial High School
2013 Suzanne Allmon Oak Grove High School
2012 Suzanne Allmon Oak Grove High School
2011 Mandy Kinney Starkville High School
2010 Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Weber John Davenport Oxford High School Winner, SETC. 1st year that SETC allowed Secondary Division to send 2 schools.
2009 David Ives Chris Wooten Laurel Christian School
2007 Suzanne Allmon Oak Grove High School
2006 Michael Marks and Mackenzie Westmoreland Michael Marks and Mackenzie Westmoreland Hattiesburg High School
2005 Jim Leonard, Jr. Suzanne Allmon Oak Grove High School
2004 Jean-Claude van Itallie Sandra Camphor Ocean Springs High School
2003 Moliere Ocean Springs High School
2002 Hattiesburg High School
2001 Oak Grove High School
2000 Ocean Springs High School
1999 Hattiesburg High School
1998 Starkville High School
1997 Oak Grove High School
1996 Biloxi High School
1995 Hattiesburg High School
1994 Hattiesburg High School