In an effort to recognize, promote and inspire new playwrights, the MTA established the Adult and Youth Playwriting Competitions. Below is a listing of the first place winners of the competitions. We plan to continue hosting these events and look for new playwrights.

Award Winners


Youth Playwriting Competition

12 Records Found
YearWinner's NameProductionTheatre Affiliation
2020 Kerri Bland Normal Endings Mississippi School of the Arts
2019 Esther Cloyd Dancing with Death Ocean Springs High School
2018 Jordyn Harper The Gaunley Mississippi School of the Arts
2017 John Hollins Trouble on Olympus Mississippi School of the Arts
2016 Jackson Jones Acting Like Children Stone High School
2015 Courtney Clay Counter Clockwise Brandon High School
2014 Jamie Lee Method Acting MS School of the Arts
2013 Treanna Bradley Duty Calls
2012 Genevieve Miller The Outsider
2011 Dayton Williams Patience Tolerance Kindness
2010 Steven Mockler His and Hers
2009 Kirsten Bankston Blame the Fool Biloxi High School

Adult Playwriting Competition

13 Records Found
YearWinner's NameProductionTheatre Affiliation
2020 Courtney Clark Pieces
2019 John Howell The Nice Fondren Theatre Workshop
2018 Mac Mitchell All Your Pretty Horses Belhaven University
2017 Clinnesha D. Sibley What Women and Their Bodies Represent
2016 Nathan Maxwell The Kid
2015 Eric Riggs & Keni Bounds The Camping Trip
2014 Keni Bounds and Eric Riggs The Date
2013 Chris Moore Finding Laurel
2012 Bret Kenyon Open Mic
2011 Suehyla El-Attar Fishbowl
2010 Kevan Jenner Brown Thanks to Mama
2009 Beth Kander See Jane Quit
2008 James Pfrehm Letting it Ride