• Mississippi Theatre Association

    • Supporting school, community, and professional theatre programs throughout Mississippi

    • Support your local theatre!

    • Check the calendar to find upcoming events in your area

    • Event calendar
    • Celebrate plays and acting

    • MTA's annual Festivals and Competitions give young talent a chance to shine

    • Read more
    • Nurture theatre's next generation

    • MTA's awards and scholarships honor the talent and determination of high school players

    • Read more


  • The Mississippi Theatre Association supports school, community, and professional theatre programs throughout Mississippi by providing workshops, scholarship programs, awards, and festivals.


Silent Auction Announcement

It’s time to start thinking about the MTA silent auction to benefit the scholarship fund.  We’re asking schools and community theatre groups to contribute items for the auction.  Things that have worked well in the past are books, crafts, art works, craft jewelry, and theatre memorabilia.  This year we are asking each community theatre to contribute two season passes to their upcoming season.  This would attract not only those in their immediate areas but also those within driving distance.  For more information, please contact MTA Treasurer Deborah Hardy.


Exciting New Partnership Announcement


We are a proud partner of the Arts Action Fund, an organization dedicated to mobilizing 1 million arts advocates who will help ensure pro-arts public policy. To take action on current, arts-related legislative issues, click here for Arts Action Fund’s Action Center.  To view updates on the progression of arts policy in the United States, click here for Arts Action Fund’s News/Blog. We appreciate our partnership with Arts Action Fund and all their dedication to advancing the arts in America! When you become a member of MTA, you also become a member of this exciting organization!

SETC Screening Auditions


  • For more information contact SETC State Auditions Coordinator, Lee Crouse


Town Hall Meetings


  • Thank you to everyone who came out to the MTA Coast Town Hall Meeting at Lynn Meadows Discovery Center.
  • We will continue to hold Town Hall Meetings across the state to discuss:
    • What is MTA
    • How can MTA help you
    • Grants
    • Theatre Advocacy
    • And more
  • If you would be interested in having a Town Hall Meeting for your community, contact Executive Director, Stacy Howell, at execdir@mta-online.org


Featured News

  • The MTA 2017 Playwriting Festival is now open for submissions. Registration for the Adult and Youth Playwriting Festival will close on November 1.
  • Click here to download the “new” MTA Brochure.
  • For additions / deletions in your contact information please contact your division chair. We would like to make sure that all theatre’s information is up to date so that the correct representative receives our e-blasts, and festival and workshop information.